At the Playground…

We took my sons, ages seven and five, up to Friendship Park
for a picnic.

My seven year old read the sign with the playground rules to
his brother.

“Do not jump on the merry-go-round when in motion.”
“Go down the slide while sitting, only.”
“Only one child on a swing at a time.”
(There were a good twenty rules.)

The boys promised to obey them if I would let them play
without Daddy standing by. So, I joined my wife at the
picnic table.

Just before it was time to eat, I went over and watched them
play. They were obeying the rules, that is, all but one. On
the tall semicircular slide, they were coming down head
first!

I took them over to the posted regulations. We read them,
again. I asked the boys what they had to say for themselves.

“Oh, don’t be silly, Dad…no one uses the slide rule
anymore!”

Leave a Reply

